February 12, 2016

Mystery Readers Present Macavity Awards

By LJ Staff

Mystery Readers International (MRI) presented its annual Macavity Awards during a recent ceremony. Named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot’s Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats, the awards are the favorite mysteries in four categories as selected by the members of MRI. This year’s winners are:

  • Best Novel: Ken Bruen, The Killing of the Tinkers
  • Best First Novel: Harley Jane Kozak, Dating Dead Men
  • Best Nonfiction: D.P. Lyle, Forensics for Dummies
  • Best Short Story: Terence Faherty, "The Widow of Slane," appearing in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine
  • Share
    Create the Library Your Community or Campus Needs
    LTC Online Course Join Library Journal and a roster of design experts for our latest 4-week interactive online course. Starting January 27, 2016, Library Design Workshop will guide participants through complex issues of library space design projects such as space programming, fundraising, and finding the right design team.
    • Develop a roadmap to create a flexible library space suited to your community.
    • Inspiring ideas, concepts, and perspectives from leaders in the library design field.
    • Build a framework to create a robust report for key stakeholders.