January 21, 2018

Three New Members of Museum and Library Services Board Confirmed

By Norman Oder

The U.S. Senate on May 25 confirmed three presidential nominees to serve as members of the National Museum and Library Services Board, which advises the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The 24-member board includes the director and deputy directors of IMLS, the chair of the National Commission on Libraries and Information Science, and 20 presidentially appointed members of the general public.

The new members include:

  • Lotsee Patterson, Ph.D., professor in the School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Oklahoma, whose research interests focus on library and information services to indigenous populations. She has received the Oklahoma Library Association’s Distinguished Service Award and has been honored by the American Library Association for her work with tribal libraries and for recruiting and mentoring American Indian librarians.
  • Jeffrey H. Patchen, president and CEO, The Children’s Museum of Indianapolis, the world’s largest children’s museum, which has within it the kids-oriented InfoZone Branch Library of the Indianapolis and Marion County Public Library.
  • Douglas G. Myers, CEO, Zoological Society of San Diego, a board member of the American Association of Museums, a fellow of the American Zoo and Aquarium Association, and a fellow of the World Association of Zoos and Aquariums, among other positions.
What is Design Thinking?
From space planning, redesigning services and staffing, to developing more user-centric approaches, design thinking can help you problem-solve through ingenuity and creativity, and better understand and serve your patrons. Our introductory online workshop, Demystifying Design Thinking is designed for library professionals who want to take a fresh approach to tackling their library’s challenges through human-centered design.