November 22, 2017

Book News: Pen Names 2008 Award Winners

By Michael Rogers

The Pen American Center April 24 named the 2008 winners of its prestigious annual literary awards. They are

  • The PEN/Nabokov Award: Cynthia Ozick for her body of work
  • The PEN/Robert Bingham Fellowship for Writers: Dalia Sofer, The September of Shiraz (Echo)
  • The PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography: Janet Malcolm, Two Lives: Gertrude and Alice (Yale)
  • The PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Awards for Drama: Richard Nelson and Sarah Ruhl
  • The PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship: Theresa Nelson
  • The PEN Translation Prize: Margaret Jull Costa for her translation from the Portuguese of Eça de Queirós’ The Maias (New Directions)
  • PEN Award for Poetry in Translation: Rosmarie Waldrop for her translation from the German of Lingos I-IX by Ulf Stolterfoht (Burning Deck)
  • The PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry: Kimiko Hahn

Winners will receive their awards at a May 19 ceremony in New York City.