December 19, 2014


Library Journal sponsors and co-sponsors many awards to recognize greatness and contributions to the library industry. Keep checking back to learn how to submit your nominations.

As much as possible, please send submissions in an electronic format such as a Word document or a PDF

LibraryAware Community Award
The LibraryAware Community Award emphasizes the library’s engagement with the community and will recognize a library or library system that has demonstrated its ability to make its community “aware” of what the library can do for it—and has delivered on that promise. The award will be given by Library Journal, the oldest and most respected U.S. library publication, and funded by LibraryAware, a product of EBSCO Publishing’s NoveList Division.

Postmark deadline: January 19, 2015 
(See Past Winners)


Paralibrarian of the Year
The 2014 Paralibrarian of the Year is Clancy PoolLibrary Journal will honor one support staffer with the 16th annual Paralibrarian of the Year award, sponsored by DEMCO, in its March 1, 2015, issue. Learn more to submit your nominations.

Postmark deadline: January 12, 2015
(See Past Winners)


Library of the Year
All libraries are good, some are great. LJ is looking for role-model libraries to vie for the honor of being the 2015 Library Journal / Gale Cengage Library of the Year. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark deadline: April 6, 2015   
(See Past Winners)


LJ/ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award
Sponsored by ProQuest, this annual award recognizes excellence in educating the next generation of library and information professionals. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark or email deadline: September 21, 2015
(See Past Winners)


Best Small Library in America
The 2014 Best Small Library in America winner is the Pine River Library, CO. The award, cosponsored by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and now in its twelfth year, honors the top libraries serving populations of 25,000 or fewer people. In addition to the $20,000 award to the winning library, two finalist libraries will each receive a $10,000 award. For the 2016 award, check out the guidelines.

Postmark deadline: September 9, 2015   
(See Past Winners)


Movers & Shakers 
The editors of Library Journal need your help in identifying the emerging leaders in the library world. Our 15th annual Movers & Shakers coverage will profile 50-plus up-and-coming individuals who are innovative, creative, and making a difference. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Submission deadline: November 6, 2015   
(See Last Year’s Winners)


Librarian of the Year
The LJ editors are seeking nominations for the 28th annual Library Journal Librarian of the Year Award to honor a professional librarian for outstanding achievement and accomplishments reflecting the loftiest service goals of the library profession. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark deadline: November 2, 2015
(See Past Winners)

share save 171 16 Awards