November 24, 2017


Library Journal sponsors and co-sponsors many awards to recognize greatness and contributions to the library industry. Keep checking back to learn how to submit your nominations.

As much as possible, please send submissions in an electronic format such as a Word document or a PDF


Paralibrarian of the Year
The 2016 Paralibrarian of the Year is Brown BiggersLibrary Journal will honor one support staffer with the 17th annual Paralibrarian of the Year award, sponsored by DEMCO, in its March 1, 2017, issue. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark deadline: January 9, 2018
(See Past Winners)


Library of the Year
All libraries are good, some are great. LJ is looking for role-model libraries to vie for the honor of being the 2017 Library Journal / Gale Cengage Library of the Year. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark deadline: April 3, 2018
(See Past Winners)


Best Small Library in America
Library Journal‘s annual award for the Best Small Library in America is returning, with the support of sustaining sponsor Junior Library Guild (a division of Library Journal‘s parent company, Media Source, Inc.). The award, founded to encourage and showcase the exemplary work of these libraries, is now in its 11th round. It honors the U.S. public library that most profoundly demonstrates outstanding service to populations of 25,000 or less. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark deadline: July 16, 2018
(See Past Winners)


Library Marketer of the Year Award
Library Journal will honor one library staffer or a library team with its third annual Marketer of the Year award in its October 1, 2018, issue. Sponsored by Library Ideas, the award recognizes the importance of innovative approaches to marketing of library services, and the role of marketing in building library engagement and defining a library’s relevance in the community. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark deadline: August 7, 2018
(See Past Winners)


LJ/ALISE Excellence in Teaching Award
Sponsored by Rowman & Littlefield, this annual award recognizes excellence in educating the next generation of library and information professionals. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark or email deadline: September 19, 2017
(See Past Winners)


Movers & Shakers 
The editors of Library Journal need your help in identifying the emerging leaders in the library world. Our 17th annual Movers & Shakers coverage will profile 50-plus up-and-coming individuals who are innovative, creative, and making a difference. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Submission deadline: November 3, 2017
(Visit the Movers & Shakers website)


Librarian of the Year
The LJ editors are seeking nominations for the 29th annual Library Journal Librarian of the Year Award to honor a professional librarian for outstanding achievement and accomplishments reflecting the loftiest service goals of the library profession. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Postmark deadline: October 31, 2017
(See Past Winners)