February 22, 2017

Paralibrarian of the Year 2016: Brown Biggers

Photo by Mitchell Kearney

In a compelling entry supported by 20 passionate letters from the academic community of the University of North Carolina, Greensboro (UNCG), and beyond—including deans, faculty, administrators, librarians, community leaders, and coworkers—Brown Biggers was overwhelmingly recommended for LJ’s 2016 Paralibrarian of the Year Award, sponsored by DEMCO. Among the highlights, nominators pointed to Biggers’s communication and teaching skills, technological expertise, commitment to service both at his job and in the larger Greensboro community, and genuine love for people.

Paralibrarian of the Year 2015: Tamara Faulkner Kraus

Photo by Mitchell Kearney

In two decades (plus one year) she has moved from work with the very young, through young adults, to dynamically serving seniors at the Hickory Public Library (HPL), NC. Tamara Faulkner Kraus’s passion for providing library service to people in need more than sustains her energy and creativity. That unsinkable spirit is now being acknowledged with the 2015 LJ Paralibrarian of the Year Award, sponsored by DEMCO.

Paralibrarian of the Year 2012: Linda Dahlquist


A 17-year veteran with the Volusia County Public Library (VCPL), Dahlquist was promoted through every paraprofessional classification in just over three years. She is now a library associate, and her work is so respected that her fellow staffers, including the librarians, named her VCPL’s “Unsung Hero” and presented her with their Customer Service Award as well.

Because of the range of her duties, her creative initiatives to improve library service, her teamwork, and her model efforts to help library users, Linda Dahlquist is LJ’s 2012 Paralibrarian of the Year, an award sponsored by DEMCO, Inc.

ALA Annual 2011: A Radiant Gilda Ramos Accepts Paralibrarian of the Year Honor

Gilda Ramos—radiant in both speech and dress—accepted the award for Paralibrarian of the Year at a lively event held at the historic Antoine’s Restaurant in New Orleans. The $1500 award was sponsored by DEMCO, Inc.