April 19, 2018

ARL Announces Its 2002-2003 Board Of Directors

By LJ Staff

The recently concluded fall membership meeting of the Association of Research
Libraries (ARL) saw Fred M. Heath, Dean of the University Libraries at Texas
A&M University, begin his one-year term as President, and the election of
three new board members. Those board members, elected to three-year terms, are
Rush Miller, University Librarian, University of Pittsburgh; Sherrie Schmidt,
Dean of University Libraries, Arizona State University; and Paul Willis, Dean of
Libraries, University of South Carolina. The membership meeting was held on
October 17 in Washington, D.C. In assuming the presidency, Heath succeeds Paula
T. Kaufman, University Librarian, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Kaufman will continue to serve on the ARL Executive Committee as Past President.
At the same meeting, Sarah Thomas, University Librarian at Cornell University,
was elected Vice President/President-Elect.