February 20, 2018

Thurber Prize Returns

By LJ Staff

The Thurber Prize for American Humor will make its return as an annual award in 2004 following a three-year hiatus. The prize, which is bestowed by Thurber House, the national literary center named for humorist James Thurber, is to be “conferred upon the author and publisher of the outstanding book of humor writing published in the United States between January 1, 2002, and December 31, 2003,” the organization said. A panel of three judges–Andy Borowitz, Claire Cook, and Andrew Hudgins–will select the winner of the $5000 prize. The short list will be announced in September, with the top prize winner being revealed at a November ceremony held at New York’s Algonquin Hotel, which often served as Thurber’s home and watering hole.