April 19, 2018

Americans for Libraries Council Elects New Officers

By LJ Staff

The Board of Directors of Americans for Libraries Council elected new officers at its annual meeting on March 20. C. Mathews Dick, Jr. was elected chair; Diane Fillippi will serve as vice-chair, Peter Pearson as secretary and John Lazarus as treasurer. Lewis Lapham will serve as Honorary Chair. Americans for Libraries Council is a new, national library advocacy group that develops and implements programs aimed at realizing the potential of libraries in the 21st century. The 27-member Council includes business, civic, educational, library and philanthropic leaders. Libraries for the Future, the program arm of the Council, is one of the nation’s leading champions of libraries, offering model programs, professional development services and consulting to library systems, library foundations and library advocates. Dick has served as President of the Redwood Library and Athenaeum in Newport, Rhode Island and as a member of the Committee to Visit the Harvard University Library. Lapham, editor of Harper’s Magazine, served for ten years on the Board of Libraries for the Future and was formerly Co-Chair of the Americans for Libraries Council. Filippi is Director of the San Francisco Planning and Urban Research Association (SPUR) and formerly President of the Friends of California Libraries. Pearson is president of the Friends of the St. Paul Public Library. Lazarus was formerly co-chair of the Campaign for the New Main in San Francisco.