February 16, 2018

IMLS Announces National Medal Winners

The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) has selected five libraries and five museums to receive the 2011 National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The award is the country’s highest honor for museums and libraries, and it recognizes recipients who demonstrate innovative approaches to public service and community outreach, as well as “extraordinary civic, educational, economic, environmental, and social contributions,” according to IMLS.

“The work they have accomplished is an inspiration to libraries and museums throughout the nation,” said Susan Hildreth, IMLS director, in a press release. “With innovation, creativity and a great deal of heart they have achieved an outstanding level of public service.”

The winners were selected by Hildreth after an open nomination process. The following is the list of this year’s recipients, and the links provide more details about each institution’s efforts.

  1. Alachua County Library District, Gainesville, FL
  2. Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, NY
  3. Columbus Metropolitan Library, Columbus, OH
  4. EdVenture Children’s Museum, Columbia, SC
  5. Erie Art Museum, Erie, PA
  6. Hill Museum & Manuscript Library, Collegeville, MN
  7. Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, Richmond, VA
  8. Madison Children’s Museum, Madison, WI
  9. San José Public Library, San José, CA
  10. Weippe Public Library & Discovery Center, Weippe, ID
Michael Kelley About Michael Kelley

Michael Kelley (mkelley@mediasourceinc.com) is the former Editor-in-Chief, Library Journal.