April 25, 2018

Library People News: Hires, Promotions, Retirements, and Obituaries 1/10/12

Mary Frances Cooper is the new President and Director, Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP). She has been Deputy Director, CLP since 2008 and previously worked at New York Public Library, Minneapolis Public Library, and Louisville Public Library, KY.

Lyn Crouse is the new Director, Elyria Public Library System, OH, effective February 1, replacing the retiring Janet Stoffer. Crouse currently is Director, Frank Sarris Public Library, Canonsburg, PA.

MaryKay Dahlgreen has been named Interim State Librarian, Oregon State Library, succeeding the retired Jim Scheppke. Dahlgreen has been Program Manager, Library Development Services, since 2005.

Tena Hanson has become Director, Estherville Public Library, IA, succeeding Carolyn Walz, who retired January 7 after 50 years of service. Hanson previously was Director, Milford Memorial Library, IA.

Robert Horton has been appointed Associate Deputy Director for Library Services, Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). He previously was State Archivist and Director, Library, Publications, and Collections Division, Minnesota Historical Society.

Luanne James is the new Director, Chester County Library, Columbia, SC. She formerly was Director, Brownsville Public Library System, TX.

Ellen Jarosz has been appointed Special Collections & Archives Librarian, California State University, Northridge. She previously worked at the Wisconsin Historical Society, Madison.

Sandy Knowles is the new Director of Talking Book Services, South Carolina State Library, Columbia, replacing Pamela Davenport, now at the Library of Congress’s National Library Service for the Blind. Knowles most recently was Manager, Larchmont Branch, Norfolk Public Library, VA.

Donna Lauffer, Director, Johnson County Library (JCL), Overland Park, KS, since 2007, with more than 32 years of service to JCL, has retired. Deputy County Librarian Tricia Suellentrop will serve as Interim County Librarian.

David S. Mao was appointed as the 23rd Law Librarian of Congress on January 4. Mao had served as Deputy Law Librarian since June 2010. Before joining the library, Mao had a five-year tenure in the Congressional Research Service.  He is admitted to the District of Columbia and Pennsylvania bars.

Anthony Molaro, a 2011 Library Journal Mover & Shaker, has been appointed Associate Dean of Library and Instructional Technology, Prairie State College, Chicago Heights, IL. He most recently was CEO, Highwood Public Library, IL.

Susan Moore has been promoted to Deputy Director of Support Services, San Diego County Library. She most recently was Principal Librarian of Community Relations.

Pam Nissler has been promoted to Executive Director, Jefferson County Public Library (JCPL), Lakewood, CO. She has been Acting Executive Director since July 2011 and joined JCPL in 2009 as Director of Library Programs and Services.

Jackie Nytes is the new CEO, Indianapolis Public Library (IPL). Nytes earlier served as IPL’s Associate Director of Management Services and as CFO. She succeeds Laura Bramble.

Christopher Richardson is the new Director of Library Services, Southern Virginia University (SVU), Buena Vista. He most recently was Instructional Services Librarian at SVU.

Roberta I. Shaffer has been appointed January 4  the associate librarian for Library Services at the Library of Congress. Shaffer had served as the Law Librarian of Congress since August 2009. Prior to her tenure as Law Librarian, Shaffer served as executive director of the Federal Library and Information Center Committee (FLICC) and the Federal Library and Information Network (FEDLINK) in the Library of Congress. She replaces Deanna Marcum, who became managing director of Ithaka S+R in December.

Jennie Stapp is the new Montana State Librarian, succeeding Darlene Staffeldt, who retired last September after 35 years of service. Stapp most recently was the state library’s Digital Library Director and CIO.

Matt Womack will become Director, Ela Area Public Library, Lake Zurich, IL, effective January 9. He most recently was Director, Lake Bluff Library, IL.

James Ethridge, Executive Vice President and Editorial Director, Gale Research Company, until his retirement in 1985, died December 13, 2011, at the age of 90. He oversaw the launch of Contemporary Authors and Directories in Print.

Ranee Pruitt, Archivist, Huntsville-Madison County Public Library, AL, since 1977, has died at the age of 64. She worked at the library since 1967.

Frances McClure, former Librarian, Montgomery County Library, Rockville, MD, died November 10, 2011, at the age of 69. She retired in 1997 after almost 30 years of service.

Michael Kelley About Michael Kelley

Michael Kelley (mkelley@mediasourceinc.com) is the former Editor-in-Chief, Library Journal.