March 17, 2018

2011 PROSE Awards Presented

The 36th PROSE Awards honored 50 works at the annual Professional and Scholarly (PSP) Conference in Washington, DC. The Awards are given by the PSP Division of the Association of American Publishers. Winners were chosen from among  512 entries in more than 40 categories from more than 60 publishers.

The 2011 R.R. Hawkins Award, which recognizes the most outstanding work among the year’s winners, was presented to McGraw-Hill Professional for The Diffusion Handbook: Applied Solutions for Engineers by R.K. Michael Thambynayagam. Senior editor Michael Penn accepted. The book also won the Awards for Excellence in the Physical Sciences & Mathematics and the Engineering & Technology categories.

Other recipients included Cambridge University Press, Yale University Press, Princeton University Press, Elsevier, American School of Classical Studies at Athens, Oxford University Press, John Wiley & Sons, University of Virginia Press, Getty Publications, and the American Chemical Society.

Changes to this year’s event included expanding the categories to include electronic publications and extending eligibility to all AAP member publishers. In addition, the event was streamed live online for the first time, and included the premiere of the film Mapping the Slave Trade, which was based on the 2010 R.R. Hawkins winner.

Meredith Schwartz About Meredith Schwartz

Meredith Schwartz ( is Executive Editor of Library Journal.

The Latest Trends in Library Design
Hosted in partnership with Salt Lake County Library and The City Library—at SLCo’s Viridian Center—the newest installment of our library building and design event will let you dig deep with architects, librarians, and vendors to explore building, renovating, and retrofitting spaces to better engage your community.