February 17, 2018

Library People News: Hires, Promotions, Retirements, and Obituaries 2/24/12

Sandy Aden, Director, North Suburban Library District, Wheeling, IL, will retire this fall after 15 years of service, with three and a half years in her current position.

Chris Ashmore has been promoted to Director, Jacksonville Public Library, IL, succeeding the retiring Sharon Zuiderveld. Ashmore most recently was Adult Services Librarian and Assistant Director.

Nancy Boyd is the new Director of Community Engagement, Main Library, Tuscaloosa Public Library, AL. She most recently was Administrative Liaison, Planning & Development Services, City of Tuscaloosa.

John Buschman will become the next Dean of Libraries, Seton Hall University, South Orange, NJ, effective July 1. He currently is Associate University Librarian for Scholarly Resources and Services, Georgetown University, Washington, DC.

Karen Calandriello, Media Specialist, Garfield Board of Education, NJ, for the past 17 years, has died at the age of 58. She also worked at the Garfield Public Library, NJ, for the past 25 years as a part-time reference librarian.

Ken Dayer has been promoted to Assistant Director/Public Services Manager, Silver City Public Library, NM. He previously was Adult Services Librarian.

Mary Feldhaus, Children’s Librarian, Eastchester Public Library, NY, will retire this month after 17 years in the position.

Edward Garcia has been appointed Library Director, Cranston Public Library (CPL), RI, effective March 2. A 2010 Library Journal Mover & Shaker, Garcia most recently was Technology Coordinator at CPL.

Peggy Henry has retired after a 38-year career at the Mid-Continent Public Library (M-CPL), Independence, MO. She had been North Independence Branch Manager since June 1977, where she mentored Steven Potter, who eventually became M-CPL ­Director.

Liz Hildreth will retire from her position as Manager, La Mesa Branch Library, San Diego County Library (SDCL), on March 1. She has worked at SCDL for 14 years, moving to her current position in 2005.

Kim Hixson has been named Director, Yakima Valley Libraries (YVL), WA. She has served as Interim Director for the past two years and before that was YVL’s Finance and Operations Manager.

Carolyn Hopkins has retired after nearly 40 years with Orange County Public Libraries, Santa Ana, CA. Her last position was Children’s Librarian, Dana Point Library.

Kathryn Johnston is the new Library Director, University of Wisconsin–Fond du Lac. She most recently was Director of Learning Resources, Illinois College of Optometry, ­Chicago.

Roy Kaufman has joined Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) Inc. as Managing Director of New Ventures. He most recently served as a member of CCC’s Board of Directors and previously was Lead Counsel, John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Jeanne Kelley will retire in June from her position as Director, Framingham Public Library (FPL), MA, a position she has held since 2010. She has worked at FPL for 17 years.

Karen Keninger has been appointed Director, National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, a division of the Library of Congress, effective March 26. She currently is Director, Iowa Department for the Blind.

Felice Maciejewski has been appointed University Librarian, Rebecca Crown Library, Dominican University, Forest River, IL. She previously was Library Consultant, Office of Learning and Information Technology, University of Wisconsin, Madison.

George “Ray” Mitchell, former Regional Director, DeSoto Trail Regional Library (DTRL), Camilla, GA, has died at the age of 77. He worked at DTRL since 1971, where he took an early stand in desegregating library services. Mitchell retired in 2005.

Michael Olson will become Dean of Libraries, Loyola University, New Orleans, effective August 1. He currently is Professor and Associate University Librarian, University of North Carolina–Charlotte.

Linda Perkins, who retired in 2010 after 40-plus years as a children’s librarian, has been honored with the Distinguished Service Award from the Association for Library Service to Children. She most recently worked at the Berkeley Public Library, CA.

Donna Pesce is the new Teen Librarian, Chappaqua Public Library, NY. She previously held a similar position at the Bronx’s Baychester Branch of New York Public ­Library.

Valerie Richardson, a solo practice attorney, is the new Foundation and Development Director of the Springfield-Greene County Library Foundation, MO.

Jodi Russ is the new Head Librarian, Bedford Branch Library, Monroe County Library System, Woodsfield, OH, replacing the retiring Lois White, who is Russ’s mother. Russ, a third-generation librarian, previously was the library’s technology trainer.

Mary Ann Tricarico has been named Director, Dedham Public Library, MA. She most recently was Library Director, New England Institute of Art, Brookline, MA.

Ray Vignovich, Director, West Des Moines Public Library, for the past 20 years, has retired. Three finalists have emerged potentially to succeed him: Darryl Eschete, Director, Chippewa Falls Public Library, WI; James Lund, Director, Red Wing Public Library, MN; and Dale Vande Haar, District Library Coordinator, Des Moines School District.

Scott Walter has been appointed University Librarian, DePaul University, Chicago, effective April 30. He currently is Associate University Librarian for Services and Associate Dean of Libraries, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he also is Professor of Library Administration and Professor of Library and Information Science.

Jackie Webster is the new Director, Jensen Memorial Library, Minden, NE. She most recently was Cataloging Librarian, U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation, Denver.

Michael Kelley About Michael Kelley

Michael Kelley (mkelley@mediasourceinc.com) is the former Editor-in-Chief, Library Journal.