April 23, 2018

Haithi Trust Names Board

A new 12-member board of governors will lead HathiTrust, the organization announced. The Trust is made up of more than 60 major research institutions and libraries partnering to ensure cultural records are preserved and widely accessible. The board officially begins work on April 16.

The newly named board replaces the HaithiTrust Executive Committee, which was established by the founding members in 2008. The decision to create the board was made during the HathiTrust Constitutional Convention in October.

Betsy Wilson of the University of Washington and Robert Wolven of Columbia University were elected to five year terms; Richard Clement of Utah State University and Patricia Steele of the University of Maryland were elected to four year terms, and Carol Mandel of New York University and Sarah Michalak of the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill were elected to three year terms.

The six other members were appointed by the founding institutions to serve a five-year term. They include: Paul Courant of the University of Michigan, Carol Diedrichs of Ohio State University, Laine Farley of California Digital Library, Wendy Lougee of the University of Minnesota, Brian Schottlaender of UC San Diego, and Bradley Wheeler of Indiana University.

The board’s initial priorities will be to implement the proposals passed during the constitutional convention, including establishment of a distributed archive of print monographs corresponding to the digital copies held in HathiTrust; creation of an approval process for proposed new initiatives, a fee-for-service model for content deposit, and a mechanism for allowing non-partners to contribute content to the repository; and coordination of efforts to expand access to digitized U.S. federal government documents.

The board will also have to deal with the ongoing Author’s Guild suit against the Trust and several of its members over digitization of copyrighted worked.

Meredith Schwartz About Meredith Schwartz

Meredith Schwartz (mschwartz@mediasourceinc.com) is Executive Editor of Library Journal.

The Latest Trends in Library Design
Hosted in partnership with Salt Lake County Library and The City Library—at SLCo’s Viridian Center—the newest installment of our library building and design event will let you dig deep with architects, librarians, and vendors to explore building, renovating, and retrofitting spaces to better engage your community.