April 20, 2018

The Life & Legacy of Dwayne McDuffie, Diversity in Comics Pioneer

The Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity, now in its third year, is named for the man whose influence on the comics industry is still being felt.

Deadline Looms for Lemony Snicket Prize Nominations

Do you know a librarian who has faced adversity with integrity and dignity intact? Nominate them for the second annual Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced with Adversity, sponsored by the American Library Association, before the December 1 deadline.

Don DeLillo Wins First Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction

The Library of Congress announced Thursday the creation of a new lifetime achievement award in literature as well as its first recipient—novelist Don DeLillo.

IMLS Announces Recipients of 2013 National Medal for Museum and Library Service

From the Institute for Museum and Library Services: The Institute of Museum and Library Services today announced the recipients of the 2013 National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The National Medal is the nation’s highest honor conferred on museums and libraries for service to the community and celebrates institutions that make a difference for […]

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction & Nonfiction Shortlist Announced

ALA announced its shortlist for the second annual Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction on Monday, April 23rd, naming three nominees in both fiction and nonfiction.

Tina Fey’s Bossypants Named Audiobook of the Year | BookExpo America 2012

Tina Fey’s Bossypants (Hachette Audio) proved the big winner at the 2012 Audie Awards presented by the Audio Publishers Association at a gala Manhattan Ceremony June 5. Fey snagged the coveted Audiobook of the Year prize as well as winning the Biography/Memoir category

Pulitzer Says No to Fiction | Editorial

Just about the time the Pulitzer board announced on April 16 that it wasn’t anointing a fiction prize winner this year, the National Book Foundation came out with its guidelines and list of judges for the 2012 National Book Awards (NBAs). You might think publishers would be wary of forking over another entry fee (the Pulitzer processing fee is $50; the NBAs, $125), especially with all the grousing that goes on among the major trade houses when their titles are shut out by small presses, who in turn grouse that the big houses get more than their share of the nominees. But the NBAs have one major advantage over the Pulitzers: they are selected by writers, not journalists. As for the National Book Critics Circle awards, they are chosen by book critics and review editors—and there is no entry fee for submissions. (LJ‘s Barbara Hoffert is VP in charge of the awards, and LJ‘s review editors are members.)

2011 PROSE Awards Presented

The 36th PROSE Awards honored 50 works at the annual Professional and Scholarly (PSP) Conference in Washington, DC.