June 19, 2018

Kristina A. Holzweiss | Movers & Shakers 2018 – Educators

Being named School Library Journal’s 2015 School Librarian of the Year could be considered the crowning achievement of any school librarian’s career. But Kristina Holzweiss is not one to rest on her laurels. If anything, that honor only heralded more inventive and far-reaching initiatives.

Dayna Hart | Movers & Shakers 2018 – Change Agents

Dayna Hart was inspired to bring project-based learning (PBL) to Constable Neil Bruce Middle School, where she’s been a teacher librarian since 2006, after attending a workshop in Texas in 2011 with Jillian Cornock and Ryan Holly, both teachers at the school. The trio put together a ninth grade social studies graphic novel unit looking at historical wrongs. Hart says, “We had no idea how powerful this unit would be.”

Jessica Anne Bratt | Movers & Shakers 2016 – Innovators

When only one student in a seventh and eighth grade assembly answered yes to having used an ereader, Jessica Bratt realized students in Grand Rapids faced a deep technological gap. “I asked what the schools needed and built interest in how the library could meet their needs,” she recalls. Leveraging her enthusiasm, flexibility, and improvisation skills, Bratt initiated DigiBridge, a formal partnership between Grand Rapids Public Library (GRPL) and Grand Rapids Public Schools (GRPS) that connects students and educators to the library’s online resources and technology.

Andy Plemmons | Movers & Shakers 2016 – Community Builders

A firm believer in “expecting the miraculous”—a phrase from an award-winning book that he’s made into his school’s philosophy and a blog that guides numerous media specialists—school librarian Andy Plemmons makes his lessons a blend of education, fun, and technology.

Adam Marcus | Movers & Shakers 2016 – Community Builders

As an insurance sales rep, Adam Marcus noticed he only seemed to enjoy his job when he trained other reps. “My wife and my friend’s wife told me that I would make a great teacher,” he recalls. After working as a New York City Teaching Fellow, Marcus moved to P.S. 32 in Brooklyn in 2003. In 2009, Marcus was asked to restart the school’s long-disused library.

Sue Kowalski | Movers & Shakers 2016 – Educators

Back when Sue Kowalski was a classroom teacher, she knew that a solid teacher-librarian partnership could create limitless possibilities. But her librarian, well…didn’t. So Kowalski went back to school for an MLS, completing it at the same time as that librarian was retiring. The rest is history.

Amanda Smithfield | Movers & Shakers 2016 – Advocates

Hume-Fogg is no ordinary place. A magnet school for ninth to 12th grade within the Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools, in 2015 it was the top-ranked high school in Tennessee and one of the top 50 U.S. schools. Academic pressure is high. That’s why Hume-Fogg librarian Amanda Smithfield has taken access and services at the school library to a new level.

Ian Singer, VP and Group Publisher of SLJ, LJ, Horn Book Departs Media Source

Media Source, Inc., has announced that Ian Singer is leaving his position as Vice President & Group Publisher, Library Journals, LLC & The Horn Book, Inc., as of August 28.

Harris Poll Shows Growing Support for Book Banning, Ratings

A recent Harris poll on attitudes about book banning and school libraries revealed that out of the 2,244 U.S. adults surveyed in March 2015, the percentage who felt that certain books should be banned increased by more than half since the last similar study conducted in 2011. In addition, more believe that some books deserve to be banned than movies, television shows, or video games.

Candidates: Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe and Sara Gaar Laughlin Will Vie For 2017-18 ALA Presidency

Here’s the ALA announcement that includes brief bios of each candidate. Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe, professor and coordinator for information literacy services and instruction at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Sara Gaar Laughlin, retired director of the Monroe County Public Library in Bloomington, Indiana, are the candidates for the 2017-18 presidency of the American […]